Home > Conferences > IndieConf November 13th, 2010 Raleigh, NC

IndieConf November 13th, 2010 Raleigh, NC

I have attended a number of conferences and events over the years. Some were forgettable, some interesting, and some charged me up. The IndieConf on November 13th, 2010 was one of the latter. Michael Kimsal put it together over the past months after seeing a need for a conference on the the business aspects of being an independent developer or designer.

I heard of the conference from Michael over LinkedIn, Twitter, or some other way early on. I signed up at the early bird rate so it was very reasonable. As the sessions were planned and announced, I got more interested as it sounded like Michael had lined up some outstanding presenters. I really didn’t have much to lose since it was on a Saturday and about 3 miles from my house.

I have plans to end my career at my current job so a conference on being an independent developer may seem odd. Since getting a full time gig as a geezer geek is like winning the lottery, I look at this as my plan B in case the company doesn’t feel the same way I do. No matter, the IndieConf was full of great content I can use even as I work for the man.

There were many cross-over topics from indie to employee. A lot of it was in time management and client management. Career development also crosses over between the two. There were plenty of topics that ended up as germane to my work in the corporate world.

After the event, I realized that I had taken six pages of notes, plus I have a CD of slide decks to look through as I debrief myself. It was a day of intensity and one that I will do again if Michael plans another one for 2011.

Categories: Conferences
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

